49 top civil, police officers retiring in J&K next year

Nine IPS officers, including former director general police Shesh Paul Vaid, will also be retiring next year.

At least 49 top officers from civil and police administrations will be retiring in Jammu and Kashmir next year.

According to details available with Greater Kashmir, these include 17 Indian Administrative Service and Indian Police Service officers.

Those retiring in the civil administration include KB Aggarwal (financial commissioner, housing and urban development department), Suresh Kumar (additional secretary, union coal ministry), LokeshDuttJha (vice-chairman/director general, institute of management, public administration and rural development), ShahidAnayatullah (commissioner secretary, revenue department), Baseer Ahmad Khan (divisional commissioner Kashmir), Hilal Ahmad Parray (commissioner secretary, general administration department), BasharatSaleem (director general, census operation) and Muhammad Javed Khan (secretary, department of floriculture, parks and gardens).

Nine IPS officers, including former director general police Shesh Paul Vaid, will also be retiring next year.

Vaid was removed as the state police chief in September this year after suspected militants abducted 11 policemen in southern Kashmir areas in retaliation to the detention of a militant commander RiyazNaikoo’s father.

Apart from Vaid, six more local IPS officers—Muneer Ahmad Khan (ADGP law and order/security), Shafkat Ali Wattali (IGP armed Kashmir), JP Singh (IGP-personnel PHQ), Surinder Kumar Gupta (director SSG), Deepak Kumar Slathia (DIG Rajouri-Poonch range) and Rafeeq-ul-Hassan (I/C DIG armed Jammu).

Also, two non-local IPS officers—SK Mishra (chairman-cum-managing director, J&K police housing corporation) and DR Dolley (on deputation with the government of India)—are retiring next year.

According to details, 16 KAS officers are scheduled to retire in the next 12 months. These include PeerzadaHafizullah Shah (commissioner SMC), Avtar Singh Chib (special secretary, industries and commerce department), Chaudhary Rashid AzamInqalabi (special secretary, higher education department), Nasir Ahmad Naqash (deputy commissioner, Baramulla), ManoharLal Raina (commissioner, relief and rehabilitation-migrants), Abdul Hamid (additional district development commissioner Poonch), LaiqParvez (programme officer ICDS project Kulgam), SumanBala (project officer, self employment Jammu), Angrez Singh (collector/project officer, wage employment), Muhammad Shafi Dar (deputy secretary, horticulture department), Devinder Kumar (general manager, DIC Samba), Abdul Rashid Mir (SDM Dooru), RifatNaseem (collector land acquisition PHE, irrigation and flood control Kashmir), Muhammad Afzal (SDM Mendhar), RaziaBano (deputy director, trainings, directorate of handloom) and NaseemaBano (personnel officer, associated hospitals GMC, Srinagar).

In the police department, 16 KPS officers are also attaining superannuation in next 12 months.

These include Ramesh Kumar Jalla (SSP Crime Branch), who investigated the gruesome rape and murder of eight-year-old child in Kathua.