Ranji Trophy: Parvez Rasool to lead J&K in season opener today

Srinagar: In the absence of the announced appointed skipper Mithun Manhas, International cricketer of State, Parvez Rasool will lead J&K in the season opening Ranji trophy match against Kerala at the Bengal Cricket Academy Ground Kolkata on Thursday.
Mithun Manhas would be missing JK’s opening clash of the season, as he will be attending ill wife back home. In his place Parvez would be leading the side that was only announced on Wednesday. The 15-member JK side includes some of the known faces of State cricket. However, some of the players included have already raised eyebrows. One particular player in the star without having any solid domestic cricket behind him is centre of attraction right now. The other point of the criticism is the missing of talented young batsman Ahmad Banday who has been phenomenal in domestic circuit this season. To drop him and other talented players have not gone well with cricket fraternity.

In batting JK’s hopes would be resting on Ian Dev Singh, Shubam Khajuria and Parvez Rasool while as in bowling, Ramdayal Punia and Umer Nazir would be pick of the pace battery.
The announced 15-member JK includes Mithun Manhas ( captain) Parvez Rasool (vice captain), Ian Dev Singh Chauhan, Adil Reshi, Shubham Khajuria, Bandeep Singh, Puneet Bisht, Samiullah Beigh, Ramdayal Punia, Umar Nazir, Rohit Sharma, Amir Aziz, Zahoor Sofi, Pranav Gupta, Amir Sofi and Mohsin Mufti.
From this season, Ranji matches would be played on neutral venues. JK would be opening its campaign on Thursday against Kerala side at Kolkatta. Kerala would be lead by batsman Rohan Prem.

The bowling department will be led by pacer Sandeep S Warrier, Manu Krishnan, and Basil Thampi while Monish K, one of the highest wicket-takers in first-class cricket last term, will feature among spin-bowling options.
Kerala includes Rohan Prem (captain), Sachin Baby (vice-captain), Nikhilesh Surendran, Sandeep S Warrier, V A Jagadeesh, Basil Thampi, Bhavin Thakkar, Manu Krishnan, Jalaj Saxena, Robert Fernandez, Sanju V Samson, M D Nitheesh, Monish K, Vinod Kumar C V, Iqbal Abdulla.
The pitch is said to be green top that will help pacers. Both teams have balanced side that contains pacers. Team that will win toss will have advantage of exploiting the early help for pacers.